WhatsApp is said to be working on preventing unknown people from seeing your latest views and online status updates

WhatsApp will introduce new privacy protections that will prevent unknown contacts from being seen last seen and online. While the messaging application already allows users to keep track of their last seen and online information, some third-party applications can also monitor its activities, which new privacy measures aim to avoid.

According to an email response to WABetaInfo, WhatsApp customer support explains that the company has implemented “a measure to improve privacy and security on the platform that will make it harder for people who users have not spoken to and do not know to see. They have last seen and searched online. ”

It should be noted that most apps on the Google Play Store are able to access the last seen and monitor your online activities. People use these applications to track other WhatsApp users, so they know when other people are online.

Thanks to new improvements to protect users, WhatsApp does not display the last seen and online status if you have never spoken to another WhatsApp account. “Since those third-party apps have not communicated with you, they will not be able to see you when you are online,” read a report from WABeta Info.

Separately, WhatsApp is set to be more flexible in its features. This will allow WhatsApp users to assign features such as the last seen to all contacts except specific contacts receiving more fine controls.

As seen by WABetaInfo, the feature will be available to WhatsApp beta v2.21.23.14 for Android users, before moving to a more stable version of the app. Those on this beta version can find the new appearance page by navigating to the Privacy Settings and selecting the ‘My Contacts Except…’ option.

Meanwhile, WhatsApp now offers another feature that will come in handy for those who want more privacy. The new feature works by allowing users to set a default time for all messages, which can be deleted within 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days after they are sent.

The “My Contacts” option for the “last seen” status already exists, but is not the default on the app at all. It is also worth noting that WhatsApp already has the “No one” option properly, preventing all users from seeing your location. Your location on WhatsApp lets other contacts know when you were last online, or if you are currently using the app. While this may seem like a safe way to protect your friends and family (and vice versa), WABetaInfo indicates that some third-party applications exploit this feature.

These applications can aggregate the positions of some users, which may allow some to get closer to others using the altar. Turning on the “My Contacts” option prevents third-party applications from accessing your online location, because the app is not one of your contacts, and therefore, will not be able to view your location.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a Reply

      AppleiPhonestop - Apple iPhone News and Rumours All Day
      Logo
      Enable registration in settings - general
      Compare items
      • Laptops (0)
      Compare
      0