Big privacy mistake iPhone users make

Unless you have these settings changed, sending photos of people taken on your iPhone is a big risk. The Sun reports that it is because your iPhone pictures contain hidden information that you can share where you live, work and always visit. It is stored between photos sent on iMessage – especially those sent to visitors, it is called metadata.

Here’s how you can stop your iPhone from saving your location to your camera snaps so you can share them safely.

What is iPhone Photo Metadata?

Metadata is a hidden database that provides information about and describes files such as images, videos and documents.

When it comes to your iPhone photos, metadata is stored between files about the time taken, the location of the shot and more.

It allows your mobile to sort your photos in a timely manner, for example, or by the spaces they take.

It also allows iOS to create video montage called “Memories” of your trips away, which are stored in the “For You” section of Photos.

The problem is, the data is stored on photos sent on Apple services such as iMessage and AirDrop.

It means that someone else can easily read your metadata if you send your snacks to them.

That means they can hunt where you live, work or often visit in a few taps.

You can tell your iPhone not to store metadata on pictures and videos in your device settings.

Fortunately, your location and other metadata have been deleted from images uploaded to social media – so anything posted to Facebook or Instagram is secure.

How to remove location data from a photo

Under all the pictures in your Photos, you can see the approximate position taken by taking up.

Your iPhone will also tell you the time and date you took, the device you took, the file size and more.

You can also read this data by clicking the information button (i) under your photo.

Here is how to remove location data from an image:

Navigate to the photo of your choice and swipe up

Click “Adjust” in the lower right corner of the map

Click “No location” to remove status metadata

How to turn off location metadata

You can also ask your iPhone not to get location data when taking photos

1. Open the Settings app

2. Tap “Privacy”> “Local services”.

3. Scroll down and tap “Camera”.

4. Select “Maa”.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a Reply

      AppleiPhonestop - Apple iPhone News and Rumours All Day
      Logo
      Enable registration in settings - general
      Compare items
      • Laptops (0)
      Compare
      0