Macworld recently shared an article explaining the difference between locked files and other file permissis. By locking a file, it is possible to prevent your system from overwriting the files, if you have some that need to remain unchanged.
[ Notice: Using Commander e as a Mac Finder Replacement ]
Stop Crushing Files with a Lock
If you choose Get Informati about a particular file, you can lock it.
- Select a file and press Command (⌘) + I or navigate to File> Get Informati from the menu
- Check the box next to Locked .
This will prevent applicatis from overwriting the file. In additi, if you accidentally delete the file, it remains in the trash because macOS can not empty the trash if it ctains a locked file. Keep in mind that if you sync these files with iCloud Drive, the "locked" property is not transferred.
[ macOS: How to Quickly Display Hidden Files and Folders in the Finder ]